theworldfrommykitchen

My Global Food Challenge

Wedding Anniversary

Leave a comment

Happy Anniversary! Mocha Chocolate Chunk Icebox Cake

Here is my rendition of Ina Garten’s Mocha Chocolate Icebox Cake, it looked incredibly easy and delicious on “The Barefoot Contessa” Old School Retro Mix episode, so I had to try it for my anniversary. I know I am missing out on many great recipes as a cook who does not eat mascarpone or cream cheese (its substitute), and it certainly is difficult to come up with the right consistencies or flavors without them. But during an episode of “The Pioneer Woman”, Ree Drummond talked about one of her secret “weapons”, Cool Whip. So an idea was born, and here is my take on a delicious cake.

P.S. and as I am writing this entry on April 8, 2014, my family is still talking about the cake.

P.S.S. I used Cool Whip Lite because we had it on hand, and it still tasted great. I do want to try it with regular Cool Whip the next time and I have been told there will be a next time. If you use thinner cookies, and an 8″ springform pan, this recipe will make 5 layers, but trust me, the three layers with these thicker, chunkier cookies are perfectly scrumptious.

Link to recipe:  https://theworldfrommykitchen.wordpress.com/wedding-anniversary/

Leave a Reply

